Board of Sanitary Commissioners

The Sanitary District of Hammond is a separate governmental unit with bonding powers and its own governing body of five Sanitary Commissioners – four appointed by the Mayor of Hammond and one by the Town Council of Munster.

The Board of Sanitary Commissioners meets on the second and fourth Tuesday of each month at 4 p.m. in the Lab Building at the Columbia Avenue plant. A public expression period is included during each meeting.

Questions to the Board of Sanitary Commissioners may be directed to: 5143 Columbia Avenue, Hammond, IN 46327

You can also contact the board at 219-853-6413, Ext. 500.

To join the public expression period via Zoom please click here @ 4pm on our meetings days listed below.

Please call or submit your request at least 24 hours in advance.

Board Members

Sam Dimopoulos


Michael Dye

Vice President

Monica Rubio


Owana Miller


Michael R. Hawkins, Sr.

Member appointed by Munster

Rachel Montes


Kaleigh Boyle

Assistant Secretary

Board meetings are streamed live at Past meetings are archived at